New England Archivists Business Meeting March 21, 2015 8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. Boston Park Plaza Hotel Boston, MA AGENDA

8:30	Call to Order: Jill Snyder
8:30-8:35	Approval of 2014 Annual Business Meeting Minutes: Adrienne Pruitt
8:35-8:40	Treasurer's Report: Juliana Kuipers
8:40-8:50	Bylaw Amendments: Jill Snyder Update language to reflect how NEA communicates amendments to our bylaws and how elections are conducted.
8:50-9:00	NEA's Vision, Mission, and Value Statements: Jill Snyder These statements will act as a touchstone for the next phase of strategic planning: writing the goals and strategies that will guide the organization forward.
9:00-9:10	Awards Distinguished Service Award: Alyssa Pacy Archival Advocacy Award: Alyssa Pacy Richard L. Haas Records Management Award: Jessica Sedgwick Richard W. Hale, Jr. Professional Development Award: Jessica Sedgwick Meeting and Travel Assistance Scholarships: Jessica Sedgwick
9:10-9:20	Volunteer Appreciation: Jill Snyder
9:20-9:30	President: Colin Lukens
9:30	Adjournment: Colin Lukens

New England Archivists Annual Business Meeting

Boston Park Plaza Hotel Boston, Massachusetts March 21, 2015 8:30 am – 9:30 am

Call to Order

Jill Snyder called the meeting to order and welcomed conference attendees to the annual business meeting. Jane Ward thanked the vendors for their support. Jill Snyder thanked Christina Zamon, Emily Tordo, Camille Torres, Jane Ward, Juliana Kuipers, Jessica Tanny, Stephanie Call, Jim D'Amico, Alyssa Pacy, Meghan Bailey, Adrienne Pruitt, and all of the members of the program and local arrangement committees for the wonderful job. Jane Ward thanked Jill Snyder on behalf of NEA.

Approval of 2014 Annual Business Meeting minutes

The Annual Business Meeting minutes of March 21, 2014 were approved. Adrienne Pruitt presented the minutes, and Silvia Mejia moved to approve the minutes as submitted. Nora Murphy seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Treasurer's Report

Juliana Kuipers presented the annual treasurer's report, and reminded members that all reports and full financial information are available on NEA's website. NEA ended the year with an increase of over \$8,000. The amount for membership dues is artificially inflated due to the change in membership year to a rolling year: dues collected actually reflect 16 months of dues. The number will be lower next year. Last year's vote for an increase in dues resulted in roughly \$2,600 in additional income, which was put towards scholarships and online transaction fees (this is a new expense and has only been tracked in the past year). Expenses include meeting expenses, printing, and shared sponsorship of the *Journal of Contemporary Archival Studies*.

VOTES

Bylaw amendments. Jessica Sedgwick moved to approve three proposed amendments to the bylaws intended to reflect changes in the way NEA communicates amendments to bylaws and how elections are conducted. Jane Ward seconded. Jill Snyder reviewed the reasons for the change – NEA now communicates largely online and votes online and bylaw language did not reflect this – and invited discussion, of which there was none. The motion passed unanimously.

NEA's Vision, Mission, and Value Statements. Juliana Kuipers moved to approve the the vision, mission, and value statements. Pam Hopkins seconded. Jill Snyder presented the context in which these statements were written and refined by a geographically and institutionally diverse sixteen member task force, and by the membership at large. The motion passed with a greater than two-thirds majority, with one nay vote.

Distinguished Service Award

Alyssa Pacy presented Nora Murphy with the Distinguished Service Award for her significant contributions to NEA over more than two decades.

Archival Advocacy Award

Alyssa Pacy presented the Boston Public Library Digital Services and the Digital Commonwealth with the Archival Advocacy Award for their work supporting the creation, management, and dissemination of cultural heritage materials held by Massachusetts institutions. Amy Ryan accepted on behalf of the

Boston Public Library, and asked Tom Blake to say a few words. Tom thanked member institutions for their support, and NEA for their day of service at BPL during the meeting. Nancy Heywood accepted on behalf of Digital Commonwealth, and thanked BPL and member institutions.

Richard L. Haas Records Management Award

Jessica Sedgwick thanked all applicants, and announced the winner of the 2015 Haas Award, Julia Demir.

Richard W. Hale, Jr. Professional Development Award

Jessica Sedgwick announced the winners of the Hale Award for 2015, Lily Troia and John Campopiano.

Meeting and Travel Assistance Scholarships

Jessica Sedgwick announced the winners of the scholarship awards, Mark Richardson and Jennifer Sharp.

Volunteer Appreciation Jill Snyder thanked the following volunteers on behalf of the Board (see following list).

Remarks from Incoming President (Colin Lukens)

Jill Snyder introduced Colin Lukens as the incoming president.

Colin thanked all those who made the meeting possible, including outgoing Immediate Past President Alyssa Pacy, attendees, and the NEA Board, committees, and task forces. He welcomed incoming president Jennifer Gunter King, and thanked all previous NEA presidents for their time and observations over the past few months. He discussed the history of NEA and its future: an inclusive, stable community, rallying to share ideas and foster the professional development of members at all stages of their careers. As we look to the future, we should remember our roots: advocacy, our region, and the records. We should not rest on our accomplishments but continue striving to answer the hard questions of the day.

This year, he will challenge himself to advocate for archivists. He will challenge the Board, to find new ways to support the membership and foster leadership. He will challenge the membership to keep the NEA community welcoming, vital, and nimble. Let's change the view of archives from that of an unwelcoming place to a place "where passionate people preserve our records and our history."

Adjournment

There being no other business, and no objections to adjournment, the Annual Business meeting adjourned at 9:09 am.

The Board thanked the following members for their NEA service this past year:

Awards and Scholarships Committee

Elizabeth Cousins Orson Kingsley Veronica Martzahl

<u>Distinguished Service and Archival Advocacy Award Committes:</u>

Rosemary Davis Rosalie Gartner

Education Committee

Co-Chair: Jim DaMico Michael Lotstein Katie Seitz Anastasia Weigle

Listserv Moderator:

Kristen Albert

Membership Committee:

Co-Chair: Hanna Cluttterbuck-Cook

Membership Secretary: Kristine (Reinhard) Sjostedt

Nominating Committee:

Tom Blake Adrienne Pruitt Gregor Trinkaus-Randall Darla White

President:

Alyssa Pacy

Web Committee:

Chair: Veronica Martzahl Chair: Kelliann Bogan

Fall 2014 Program Committee

Chair: Abby Cramer Keith Chevalier Michelle Chiles Genna Duplisea John Healey Keith Pendergrass Julie Swierczek

Spring 2015 Program Committee

Co-chair: Camille Torres Hoven

Co-chair: Liz Francis

Liz Andrews
Erica Boudreau
Renee DesRoberts
Elise Dunham
Frances Harrell
Aliza Leventhal

Peter Rawson
Mary Richardson

Aaron Rubinstein

Spring 2015 Local Arrangement Committee

Chair: Christina Zamon

Meghan Bailey
Krista Ferrante
Rosalie Gartner
Meridith Halsey
Brendan Higgins
Megan Schwenke

Emily Tordo Jane Ward